You are here

Henrik Ibsen's "Ghosts" by Theatre Coup d'Etat

Thursday, October 17, 2013 - 7:30pm

TICKETS: asighosts.eventbrite.com/ or call 612-871-4907.

Theatre Coup d’Etat returns to the intimate setting of The Ballroom of ASI’s historic Turnblad Mansion with Norwegian playwright Henrik Ibsen’s classic, Ghosts.

The world of Ghosts is one ruled by “shoulds.” Through the lens of the Alving family and its modern matriarch, we witness the struggles inherent when society dictates how men and women should think and act. No emotion haunts like guilt, and nothing breeds guilt like a past filled with shoulds.  

“It’s not just what we inherit from our mothers and fathers that haunts us.” – Mrs. Alving (Ghosts)

In spring 2013, Theatre Coup d’Etat received rave reviews with its inaugural performance of Shakespeare’s Hamlet at ASI. Their mission is “to provoke an emotional and analytical response in their audiences by showing the depth of the human condition through both classical and contemporary works.”

Dates (Oct. 16-Nov. 3, 2013)

Ghosts Opening night: Wednesday, Oct. 16 (7:30 p.m.)

Thursday, Oct. 17 (7:30 p.m.)

Friday, Oct. 18 (7:30 p.m.)

Saturday, Oct 19 (7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, Oct. 20 (2 p.m.)

Wednesday, Oct. 23 (7:30 p.m.)

Thursday, Oct 24 (7:30 p.m.)

Friday, Oct 25 (7:30 p.m.)

Saturday, Oct 26 (7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, Oct 27 (2 p.m.)

Friday, Nov. 1 (7:30 p.m.)

Saturday, Nov. 2 (7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, Nov. 3 (2 p.m.)

Tickets: $30. Available at asighosts.eventbrite.com/ or call 612-871-4907. Tickets include light bites by FIKA during intermission! Cash bar available. 

Run time: approximately 1 hour 45 minutes plus one 15-minute intermission

Prix fixe dinners by FIKA are offered on Fridays, Oct. 18, 25, and Nov. 1 at 5:15 p.m.

Prix Fixe packages (including dinner by FIKA and show tickets): $100 per person by calling 612-871-4907. Reservations must be made one week in advance. Limited availability.

Share this