Skip to main content

You are here

  • Jun 11, 2015


The American Swedish Institute has elected four new members to its Board of Trustees.The new officers will serve a three-year term beginning June 2015:

Dr. Philip Anderson, Professor Emeritus, North Park University; long-time President of the Swedish American Historical Society, Chicago.

Diane Hofstede, former two-term member of the Minneapolis City Council; past president of the Minneapolis Library Board, part of delegation which created the Minneapolis-Uppsala Sister City relationship in 2000.

Laurie L. Holmquist, Global Account Manager for Delta Airlines, actively involved in ASI activities; lived in Sweden both as a student and a working professional.

Herbert (Ted) Johnson, retired university library director; past president of the Scandinavian American Foundation of Georgia; active ASI volunteer and member of many Swedish-American organizations in Minnesota.

Five current trustees were re-elected for a second three-year term: Rev. Rodney Anderson, Helen Bergren, Dean Erickson, Beth Jones and Veronika Torarp.

The Board of Trustees is led by executive committee members: Tom Nelson (Chair), Dean Erickson (Vice-Chair), Carline Bengtsson (Secretary), and Russ Michaletz, (Treasurer)

Trustees were elected at the ASI Annual Meeting on Wednesday, June 10, 2015.

Trustees leaving the Board in June 2015 are: Jamal Hashi, Randal Monson and Jerry Sjogren. The American Swedish Institute is grateful to these departing Trustees for their commitment and dedication to the Institute.  

share this